HOLIdaZE

Namaste beautiful divine being of light 🙂

Do you celebrate the holidays?  I don’t really…Well, I don’t really celebrate consumerism.  I feel great…all warm and fuzzy when this season brings together friends and family-everyone for that matter!  I don’t despise it altogether.

Alright, so-currently, I don’t do presents-I don’t give them, and I ask not to receive them; I try not to complain about cards, however.  I guess I’m mentioning this because a friend just sent Joe and I a few, very very small gifts and I felt so BAH! HUMBUG!  by not having a gift ready to return.  It was so sweet and thoughtful, I was almost brought me to tears (okay so that’s not quite uncommon), and I felt compelled to return.

Joe and I decided last year not to contribute to the consumerism and we only bought “things” for a few select people; his 9 year old son being one of them.

I believe I posted something similar last year around this time.  Here’s a cheesy quote to further explain:

“Christmas is forever, not for just one day,
for loving, sharing, giving, are not to put away
like bells and lights and tinsel, in some box upon a shelf.
The good you do for others is good you do yourself…”
~Norman Wesley Brooks, “Let Every Day Be Christmas,” 1976

Choosing not to give much attention to “Christmas” is making this statement:  the choice of making each day (not just one) about giving, loving, sharing…All of the time and effort put into this one day…let’s spread that out and make everyday more meaningful, no?

Let’s let everyday be an opportunity to reach out into the community and serve…

“Serving the world with love and cooperation, you will find your own true Self. As you help those in need, selfishness will fall away, and without even noticing you will find your own fulfillment.”
Ammachi (Mata Amritanandamayi Devi), my beloved Guru

con·sum·er·ism

http://sp.dictionary.com/dictstatic/d/g/speaker.swf [kuhn-soo-muh-riz-uhm]  Show IPA

–noun

the concept that an ever-expanding consumption of goods isadvantageous to the economy.

3.

the fact or practice of an increasing consumption of goods: acritic of American consumerism.

Christmas 08′ I spent @ Amma’s ashram in South India…everyone received one little piece of that delicious blessed chocolate cake, one pomegranate aril atop each!

Dancing to the tune - Xmas eve 2008, Amritapuri

can you find me? 😛

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Vibrating Radiating Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

