Furry little hairy creatures

Why haven’t I posted on this yet?  This is going to be a quick rant, if you dare read on.

I have yet to post on one of my utmost joys of life: small creatures, preferably with fur.  I don’t like to eat them or torture them in any way (unless they don’t like to be pet).  Side note, in Australia I was reprimanded by friends in using this word, “pet.”  Apparently, “pets” are the animals themselves and “pat” is what you would do to them in adoration.  However, I really really really love to pet, pat, pet, little furry animals.  I believe if I were in the worst possible state of mind I could ever endure, I would snap back to positive joy if someone just handed off this guy to me

or this guy

okay, just one more

 

 

so…I have a little furry animal addiction. I can’t even focus on a serious conversation if a little guy happens to walk by. I have to take a moment to squeal (yes, like a girl) and adore. I am completely justified, however.

How a dog’s life can make you happier

By Martin Hodgson

Monday, 22 January 2007

If you are looking for a healthier life, get a dog. Scientists have long believed that the companionship of a pet can be good for you, but new research suggests that dog owners are physically healthier than cat owners.

According to Deborah Wells from Queen’s University, Belfast, dog owners tend to have lower blood pressure and cholesterol levels, possibly thanks to regular walks with their four-legged friends.

Writing in the British Journal of Health Psychology, Dr Wells said that dog owners appear to suffer from fewer minor ailments as well as fewer serious medical problems.

In a review of dozens of previous studies, Dr Wells found that dogs also seem to aid recovery from serious illnesses, such as heart attacks. One study published in 1995 found that dog owners were more likely, by about 8.6 per cent, to be alive one year after a heart attack than those who do not own a dog.

Dr Wells said: “It is possible that dogs can directly promote our well-being by buffering us from stress. The ownership of a dog can also lead to increases in physical activity and facilitate the development of social contacts, which may enhance physiological and psychological human health in a more indirect manner.”

One British study found that the presence of a dog can help chronically ill children endure potentially painful medical procedures.

With their heightened sense of smell, dogs also appear to be able to sniff out malignant melanomas, a kind of cancer, or the onset of low blood sugar in diabetics, research suggests.

A study in Israel, meanwhile, suggested that pets can help people with schizophrenia to feel calmer and more motivated[…]” (http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/health-news/how-a-dogs-life-can-make-you-happier-433184.html)

If you feel the same, I highly suggest you check out this site for a little joy in your life: http://cuteoverload.com/

and I’ll leave you with these:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Oh! Also, if you really want to know how serious I am (no, really), check out my personal Facebook page for daily uploads of adorable little furry photos!

Thanks! That’s all for today. Now go pat a little furry.

This entry was posted in Gratitude. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Furry little hairy creatures

  1. Lana says:

    this is the only ridiculous post for a while, I promise.

Leave a Reply

