If every American stopped eating meat, the population of Africa (one billion) could be fed with the grain saved. -OTARIAN

  • If every American1 stopped eating meat2, the population of Africa (one billion)3 could be fed with the grain saved4, 5

(1) http://www.census.gov/

(2) http://earthtrends.wri.org/text/agriculture-food/variable-193.html

(3) http://allafrica.com/stories/200908200660.html

(4) We estimated that typically it takes 5.4kgs of grain to produce 1kg meat

(5) Erik Millstone and Tim Lang (2003). “The Atlas of Food”. Earthscan UK (p34)

Calculation:
308 million Americans x 124.8kg meat per year = 38.44 million tonnes meat
38.44 million tonnes x 5.4kg grain = 207.6 million tonnes grain for livestock
207.6 million tonnes divided by 180kgs (amount needed to feed a person)= 1.15 billion people

http://www.otarian.com/

STRONG statements on Otarian’s website.

What’s Otarian?  “The world’s first low-carbon restaurant.”  They serve an entirely Vegetarian menu with all products chosen carefully to minimize carbon footprint.  All packaging is compostable.

I am not going to go into detail, as you can read for yourself on their very detailed website, and find answers to any questions you might have.

What I will tell you is that the food is delicious and fresh.  The staff is pleasant, helpful and you can feel that they actually WANT to work for Otarian.  They smile because they’re happy to serve you and see you in the restaurant.  Seem a little outlandish?!  See for yourself.  Check one of their two New York locations; they also have two locations in the UK.

I spent a moment speaking with one of the managers of the 154 Bleecker Street (New York) location, Kamal.  On a soggy day in NY, I was lingering by the door fumbling with my umbrella.  Kamal invited me to stand in the doorway while I assembled myself and asked how I liked the food.  I ended up back inside providing him with my information as I stated, “I want to promote this place!  I’m so glad this restaurant is here!”  He took interest in my upcoming Journey Dance class down the street and we touched upon the concepts of Tantra and Chakras.   Generally, I prefer dining where I can connect with, or respect the management.  How about you?

I had two tacos and a “choco-treat.”  The taco $7.45:  “Filled with spicy vegetable and bean chilli, salsa, guacamole, sour cream, lettuce, and cheese.”  Check the website for ingredients.  They were absolutely delicious.  Choco-treat $3.45,   “Rich and chocolatey egg-free cake”:  Sugar, Soy Milk, Wheat Flour, Vegetable Oil, Cocoa Powder, Chocolate, Golden Syrup, Corn Starch, Coconut Milk, Apple Cider Vinegar, Baking Powder, Vanilla Extract, Baking Soda, Salt, Xantham Gum

Not the most important details to everyone, but for me, I want to know what I’m putting in my mouth.

Otarian is the epitome of what I want in a “fast-food” restaurant.

It’s what I’ve been asking for, for years.  Not because I need a fast food restaurant.  Quite honestly, I like to cook for myself. However, this restaurant I would like to see grow.  Otarian is making a statement.  What I hear is WAKE UP!  Get conscious.  What you put in your mouth matters.  Your purchases matter.  Your carbon footprint does have an impact!

I believe the masses are ready for change, or at least to become aware of what steps to take to improve.  Whether you enjoy the food at Otarian, favor their message or the converse, their worth supporting because of the approach.

They’re not just bitching.  Their acting.

If you’re going for fast food today…why not make a conscious choice for the oneness of all

This entry was posted in Current Updates from Planet Earth, Gratitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

