Its 4/20…!!

Today, is a great day.  NO, not because it’s “four twenty.”  It’s a great day because Joe and I taught a and hour and a half morning Yoga Practice at a high school to sophomores, junior and seniors.   Why is this soooo great?  I don’t think I can even possibly express to you the multitude of importance. Let’s begin here.  I remember being in High School.  I remember 4/20…what a great reminder I had when I turned my cell phone on after teaching…

“Lana its *****  can you call me in to school?”  I won’t say who or where. Alright, I will reveal, my younger sister, 16 to be exact, sent me this text.

Believe me, I remember 4/20. I am elated to have taught Yoga today to high school students who have just today, practiced Yoga (consciously) for the first time.  We all do Yoga, all day, every day-but today, these high school students DID YOGA.

I will follow up with this post, but in the present,  I want to get a big thank you out there to all of the students who participated in our practice this morning.  Thank you.  We are pleased and excited to continue.  We are grateful you gave us the respect to sit down and listen to our words, they come from a place where a deeper meaning is being held; maintained; cultivated. For any of those students-you know who you are, who practiced Yoga with us today.  You’re great!   Keep it up, promise is you’ll get to where you want to be, and we’ll lend a hand to get you there. This one for tomorrow guys? 😉                                                                                                                                     *~*~*~*~AUMMMMM~*~*~*~

So… why IS 4/20 soooo important?  Let’s ask my grandpa Bob.

4204:20 or 4/20 (pronounced four-twenty) refers to consumption of cannabis and, by extension, a way to identify oneself with cannabis subculture.[1][2]

The term originated from a group of teenagers at San Rafael High School in San Rafael, California, United States in 1971.[3][4] The teens would meet after school at 4:20 p.m. to smoke marijuana at the Louis Pasteur statue.

According to an April 2009 article on the The Huffington Post, the group called itself the Waldos because its members hung out by a wall after school. Writer Ryan Grim, citing interviews with anonymous Waldos, claims that the group met by the statue at 4:20 p.m. to begin a search for a crop of abandoned cannabis growing near Point Reyes that they had heard about. They never found the stash, Grim writes, but smoked plenty of marijuana while looking for it.[5] (Wikipedia, 2010)

My grandfather, Robert Kundert (Pres. Bob) was the President of the American Cannabis Society.  He passed away in 1999, at the age of 77.

Robert Kundert (7S) is the founder and president of the American Cannabis Society. Mr. Kundert, a former cigarette smoker, employs cannabis to ease the respiratory problems caused by Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease. “Cannabis is a natural bronchodilator. It opens my lungs and gives me life.”

Posted by FoM on September 11, 1999 at 08:04:14 PT
John Holmstrom – Special to HT News
Source: High Times

cannabisRobert Kundert, 77, who initiated the famous “Thank You for Pot Smoking” campaign, passed away on September 6, 1999, and services were held on September 9. Pres Bob was a lifetime resident of Madison WI, who worked as a car salesman, building restoration owner, and inventor.

He was also a participant in the WI Journey for Justice, and a plaintiff on the Federal Class Action Lawsuit for the Freedom of Therapeutic Cannabis. But it’s his work as director of the American Cannabis Society (ACS) that he will be most remembered for.Since the mid-70’s the ACS was attempting to gather a million signature petition to wrap around the White House, and this effort will continue in Pres Bob’s honor.

And it was the “Thank You For Pot Smoking” graphic (a parody of the “Thank You for Not Smoking” ad campaign), appearing in ads and on stickers and t-shirts that put the American Cannabis Society on the map.

On the back of another one of Pres Bob’s famous t-shirts (which read “I Am Not A Criminal”), were these lines:

“It is my right…
to heal my own body,
to plant any crop, and
to seek happiness
any way I choose.
It is my right to freedom.”

It is interesting that, as a parent of baby boomers, Pres Bob was a member of a generation that was fervently antidrug. His contemporaries were, for the most part, shocked and appalled that their children experimented with pot and LSD.

But Bob was open-minded enough to try it when his son began to smoke in the 1960s, rather than condemn his son for doing something he didn’t understand. So he tried it, liked it, and soon joined up with the hippie generation and championed their cause.

Pres Bob found the marijuana experience so exhilarating that he could not comprehend why the U.S. government that he served so faithfully during the war would conduct such a ridiculous campaign of lies and hypocrisy against it.

Bob would insist say he was “against legalization” of marijuana because that wasn’t enough–it could still be taxed and controlled by the government if it was “legalized.”

He wanted marijuana to be completely free for growing and smoking and whatever else it was useful for. He was against legalization and in favor of freedom.

He will truly be missed. He was a very special person.

John Holmstrom – Special to HT News
http://www.hightimes.com/ht/new/9909/thankyou.html

I stand for what he believed in still today.  However the relevance of Pres. Bob and marijuana  in relation to teaching today, on 4/20 is simply the word:  “high.”

Yoga is my high.

let me guide you into the high…of Yoga…deep within your being


still reppin!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Its 4/20…!!

  1. ez-dan says:

    Hi, Sadly not into Yoga yet, but I knew Pres. Bob, in 94, 95 and thereabouts. I loved the guy. And yes he would always say “Total Cannibas Freedom, Dan….. It’s the only thing to do. No Govt. Control…. Total Freedom”. And he would often be a little loud, or at least enthusiastically Fervent by the time his speech was done.
    He lived here in y house for the good part of a year.. Had the whole place ‘tubed’ with oxygen lines so he could sit at the table or be in the kitchen or living room and just tap into the closest O2 line for his COPD. Got to take him to the Melbourne Hemp Festival (or help out) twice and the Gainseville Festival once. We sold a lot of stickers. Anyway, happy to find this tribute. You are his Granddaughter? Wish my Grandad had been that cool. ez-dan.

    • Lana says:

      Yes Dan, Thank you-he was in fact my grandfather! He was a wonderful man and in the next year or two one of his children will be bringing the American Cannabis Society back to life. Thank you so much for sharing this story. Please email me through http://lanashay.com/ so that I can connect you with my uncle, I’m sure he’d love to hear your stories as well. Thank you and happy to connect!

Leave a Reply

