2010 Jivamukti style

On the Eve of the new year 2010, my love and I made our way by bus from South Jersey to New York City.  A practice I have yet to become fully accustomed to- is simply living in the present without future questions or preconceived notions. Thus this short journey commenced with racing thoughts in anticipation of the events to follow.  New Year’s eve doesn’t ever quite seem to give all that is promised.

This is truly a statement of the past in my realm of being.

Making the choice to live out the “auspicious” evening (in Sharon Gannon’s words)  in the presence of Jivamukti aficionados and the innovators was not only an upgrade from the general majority, yet a close move towards perfection in my understanding.  It was thus far, the most energetically sound choice I have made for my New Year’s eve setting.

The pamphlet that was given by the staff of Jivamukti upon enter Mauna, or silence, and is a beautiful tangible memory for me. I vow to reread it over and over again to remind myself of my intentions for the year of 2010.  No, no, my friends, not my resolutions…my intentions.  As days pass, and I become more immersed in the practice of Yoga, I am beginning to grasp the depth of meaning associated with the word “intention.”  My intention for the physical setting of New Years grew from to the realization of humanity’s interconnectedness.  Now I must state here before going onwards, what my personality entails in regards to the New Year’s celebration.

Mauna pamphlet

mauna pamplet

I am, just ever so slightly superstitious.  This is something I am learning to let go of in effort to embrace all that life has to offer, however the superstition remains.  Therefore, where, in the sense of physical location, that I choose to place myself, better yet where the universe aligns in guiding me-on the night of December 31 of each year is of the utmost importance to me.  In numerology; in the American culture that I have been raised in, the mark of a “new year” holds great significance.  I love change.  I embrace change.  At the time when the decade is marked by the change of a new year,  I want to be in a place that is a vibrational match for my vibrational escrow.

The “best place to be” on New Year’s Eve, is one that is a vibrational match to what you’re asking for (thank you Abraham Hicks http://www.abraham-hicks.com/lawofattractionsource/index.php).

What I am asking for is much in alignment with what Jivamukti stands for.  Animal rights and vegetarian/veganism, spirituality…liberation!

I felt supported myself and supporting of all beings at Jivamukti the eve of the new year. My vibrational alignmentment was in a rather perfectional parallel.  What I want for the world and what I strive for in my life; in my tiny little life, is just what I found at Jivamukti Yoga school on New Year’s eve.

I would like to offer my deepest most sincere appreciation to Sharon Gannon and David Life, the founders of Jivamukti Yoga School for providing a nurturing, progressive, tranformatively liberating sacred space to commune with fellow Yogis and Yoginis.

“Take a vow to begin the new year as a giver of joy.”

Jivamukti founders

This is my first post of the new year…and the official public launch of my blog.  I would like to begin by announcing my intentions* for this blog.

share knowledge that I feel will make the world a better place on subjects such as:

yoga

eco lifestyle

physical health and nutrition

culinary arts

travel

…and so much more!

most importantly, invite readers to laugh, cry, sing, dance, feel inspired, feel informed and empowered to do the same!


My boyfriend is the innovator for this blog as I have to admit:  Previously, I felt the purpose of most any blog will surely drown in the depths of the vast sea known as the world wide web.  What is my little insignificant blog going to provide for the masses?   So I’ve begun to answer my own question with the understanding that everything has to start somewhere.  Whilst the commence of my journey teaching with full purpose and meaning…that genuine devotion will surely radiate much further than preconceived.
As always, thank you for reading and please leave comments with potential future topics!

Happy 2010.  Make it the best.

This entry was posted in Gurus and teachers alike and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

